BOARD OF SUPERVISORS PROCEEDINGS

The Grundy County Board of Supervisors met in regular session in the Supervisors' room at the Grundy County Courthouse on January 22, 2024, at 9:00 a.m. Chairperson Smith called the meeting to order with the following members present: Schildroth, Vandehaar, Halverson, and Nederhoff.

The board opened the meeting by reciting the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion was made by Halverson and seconded by Nederhoff to approve the minutes of the previous meeting. Carried unanimously.

Gary Mauer, County Engineer, reviewed the FY2025 Weed Commission Budget, the FY2025 Secondary Road Construction Projects and department matters with the board. Todd Rickert, General Assistance and Chemical Dependency Fund Co-Director,

reviewed the FY2025 budget.

Joan Watson, Veteran Service Officer, reviewed the FY2025 budget. Jesse Huisman, IT/GIS Department, reviewed the FY2025 budget.

Butch Kuester, Custodian/Maintenance, reviewed the FY2025 budget.

Kirk A. Dolleslager, County Sherriff, reviewed the FY2025 budget.

Motion was made by Schildroth and seconded by Nederhoff to approve the Sherriff's Quarterly Report. Carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Halverson, seconded by Vandehaar to approve Resolution #33-

2023/2024. BE IT HEREBY RESOLVED that the County Sheriff be allowed the following number of deputies and assistants for the office: The County Sheriff shall be allowed one chief deputy, ten deputies, four communication operators/jailers, and four part-time communication operators/jailers. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Board of Supervisors approve the appointments of the following staff members to fill the positions authorized above: Zach Tripp, Chief Deputy Sheriff; Mike McAteer, Deputy Sheriff/Investigator; Josh Ritchey, Deputy Sheriff/Jail Administrator; Adam Heise, Deputy Sheriff; Kyle Wotlhoff, Deputy Sheriff; Cody Freese, Deputy Sheriff; Justin Fox, Deputy Sheriff; Sam Broome, Deputy Sheriff; Garrett Husmann, Deputy Sheriff; Carson Lutterman, Deputy Sheriff; Sheila Ralston, Communication Operator/Jailer Supervisor; Oltman, Communication Operator/Jailer; Nate Stahl, Communication Shane Operator/Jailer; Haydon Rhoads, Communication Operator/Jailer; Rick Claassen, Parttime Communication Operator/Jailer; Chris Heerkes, Part-time Communication Operator/Jailer; John Calderwood, Part-time Communication Operator/Jailer; Cindy Haefner, Communication Operator/Jailer. Passed and adopted this 22nd day of January, 2024. The vote on the resolution was as follows: Ayes - Schildroth, Vandehaar, Halverson, Nederhoff, and Smith. Nays – none. Resolution adopted.

Billie Dall, Director, Dike Public Library; Karen Mennenga, Director, Wellsburg Public Library; Kate Poling, Assistant Director, Conrad Public Library; Lenah Oltman, Director, Reinbeck Public Library; and Lindsey Freese, Director, Kling Memorial Library, provided an update on the activities of the libraries across the county and requested a 3% increase in the grant received from the county.

Donald Kampman discussed budget updates and possible action to transfer funds from the capital project balance to debt service. After discussion, it was decided that a resolution will be drafted to address the matter. Motion was made by Halverson and seconded by Nederhoff to approve the agreement between Grundy Conty Board of Health, Grundy County Treasurer, and Grundy County, for Environmental Health Services in Grundy County under Chapter 28E and Chapter 137 of the Code of Iowa and authorize chairperson to sign the same. The vote on the resolution was as follows: Ayes – Halverson and Smith. Nays – Vandehaar, Schildroth, and Nederhoff. Motion was defeated.

Motion was made by Nederhoff, seconded by Schildroth to approve the Recorder's Quarterly Report. Carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Nederhoff and seconded by Schildroth to reduce the Compensation Board recommendations by 100% for the County Supervisors and all others by 25%. The FY2025 salaries for elected officials will be: County Attorney \$92,818.90, County Auditor \$78,382.98, County Recorder \$78,382.98, County Treasurer \$78,382.98, County Sheriff \$126,517.69, and County Supervisors \$32,080.75. The vote was as follows: Ayes- Schildroth, Halverson, Nederhoff, and Smith. Nays – Vandehaar. Carried 4-1.

Following discussion on various board and committee meetings, motion was made by Halverson and seconded by Nederhoff to adjourn. Carried unanimously. Barbara L. Smith, Chairperson

Alan T. Tscherter, County Auditor